Meeting Minutes for September 14, 2016

ACBL Unit 143 Board of Directors

Attendees: Linda Seibert, Pres., Mary Dolan, VP, Lee Hastings, George Hawley, Becky Hubert,

Jay Shah, Mark, Ziegelman, guest Mike Carmen, Tournament Director

Absentees: Mark Boswell, Karen Erlanger, Jeff Kopolow, Debbie Romero, Helene Siegfried

Call to Order: President Seibert called the meeting to order.

Minutes of the July Board meeting were approved for posting.

President's Report (Linda Seibert) Linda gave a District 8 report. Dropbox training is postponed until the October 12th meeting. Additionally, Linda announced that the Partnership Coordinator position is now open. Linda requested Board members share all comments they received regarding the Regional. Full discussion ensued.

Treasurer's Report (Jeff Kopolow) No report but report was distributed prior to the meeting.

Tournament Report:

<u>August Regional</u>: August tournament was successful. Mike gave a full report with financials showing a slightly lower profit than expected

October Sectional: All plans are in place; further report will be given next month.

<u>September 299er Tournament:</u> Lee announced he was going to be out of town for this tournament and Jeff Kopolow will step in to fulfill Lee's duties. Other board members signed up to complete needed tasks.

OLD BUSINESS: The condition of the card tables was discussed.

Committee Reports

Publicity: (Debbie Romero) No report

Unit Games (Mark Boswell) No report

Website: (Helene Siegfried and Mary Dolan) Helene and Mary continue to update website regularly.

Membership: (Becky Hubert) Becky reported our membership is 1388 and new member letters were mailed

Date Book: (Karen Erlanger) No report

Education: (Mark Ziegelman) No report

Nominating: (Becky Hubert) With the absence of any petitions the Board approved slate will become effective November 1st. The slate includes: Lee Hastings and Linda Seibert returning board members and Dianne Glick and John Antognoli are new board members.

NEW BUSINESS: Discussion of the Meritorious Service Award criteria was discussed. Lee Hastings moved that the guidelines for Meritorious Service Award be amended from requiring 9 years service on the Board to 9 years of service to the Unit. Becky Hubert seconded and the motion was approved unanimously. Discussion of the next two recipients ensued. Lee Hastings moved and Becky Hubert seconded that Milt Zlatic receive the Meritorious Service Award at the January 2017 Sectional and Tom Oppenheimer receive the award at the May 2017 Sectional.

Adjournment: Lee Hastings moved to adjourn; M Dolan seconded. Motion carried. Next meeting is November 9, 2016.

Respectfully submitted,

Becky Hubert, Sec'y